How can we backup all posts from a community in the old place (/r/quebec for instance) and copy all posts and comments to the new place (/c/quebec) ?

I think we need to do this for all subreddits before the API gets shut down

Sign in to add comment

If you are an instance owner, you can use this tool https://github.com/rileynull/RedditLemmyImporter . However, is all of your sub's old content really that valuable to bring over? Why not just create the new community, copy the old sidebar info / rules, make a sticky with links to top posts in the old sub, let a few people know (in a way that doesn't violate the sub's rules) and let people migrate naturally?

I agree - I would probably recommend even using archive.ph or the Wayback Machine to archive/permalink anything like top posts, if they're really important. Copying all of the contents of a subreddit to a Lemmy instance just seems like overkill.

Thank you that looks like exactly what I need. Reddit keeping history hostage is one of the way the transition can fail and this breaks that. I am weirded out by all the comments almost unanimously suggesting to burn down the past.

I think it’s more people tired of the pollution that took place, and trying to preserve the clean and friendly one we have so far.

I do personally agree with saving old ones, but I’d highlight them as legacy and then make only the admin be able to edit/create content there, with links to the new one still as suggested before.

Don’t burn books, but let’s not study incorporate the worst things and make them normal here. I think is the feeling.

I support the archiver program myself xD

Permanently Deleted

Why get load on a community run project, just let the past die imo.

Use a web archiver on old.reddit.com and store the stuff away for now, is my recommendation. There are concerns about ownership of the content on reddit from a legal perspective, so best to archive as a reference more than anything

I would personally prefer that all my posts/comments not get copied over. Lemmy isn't a clone of Reddit, it's something new. It's like trying to turn your new partner into your ex because you miss them.

While I do value the new (to me, an ex Reddit user) atmosphere of Lemmy, I think a lot of useful information is still 'left behind' on Reddit. Maybe we should focus on bringing that over, like how c/piracy still has the megathread.

Well I didn't throw away all my instruction manuals and family albums just because I bought a new house. Leaving this data behind empowers Reddit as the only source left of this content.