How do I see different posts on the "front page"?

Or the "home page" or whatever it's called here. I have tried different sortings, but all the top results are the same as they were the last two days. Each sort ( all active / all hot / subscribed active / subscribed hot) gives different results, but it's the same results for the past two days now. Am I doing something wrong? It's very frustrating, because I've already read and interacted with those posts, and I have to keep scrolling forever to find stuff I haven't seen yet.

When I sort by "new" I get new posts, but none of them have anyone to interact with or reply to, since they're new. I'm okay being among the first to comment, but I'm here looking for interaction. I like reading other people's takes/opinions on things, and I enjoy having conversations. I can comment on multiple new posts without getting any interaction.