ARFID & antibiotics

what're you choking down when you have to eat something to keep the pills down, and you have to take the pills

I tried taking doxycycline on an empty stomach yesterday and boy howdy, was that a bad decision – great ab workout though 😂🤢

last night, my new morning plan had been to have my Adderall when I wake up, some yogurt 2 hours later, then 2 hours later have toast and hummus or something with the doxycycline

great plan, except I don't usually eat this early, and I couldn't even get through half a cup of yogurt, which has been a lifelong safe food that I really really reeeeeally don't want to be put off

maybe skip the yogurt step and just shove a piece of bread down my throat? I already have a weird relationship with bread, I'm fine with being put off it for a while after this

on a totally unrelated note, you should definitely always wear bug repellent and check yourself for ticks when you come inside for the day

Sign in to add comment

Oof, doxycycline on an empty stomach - did that once, had to call out sick, which I never do.

You mention ticks - doxy for Lyme?

Yep

I foolishly wore wide-leg cargo pants while playing outside with my dog and didn't apply bug spray 🤦

Mint ice cream. Works every time.

This is kinda genius, thank you! I love ice cream. I bet there's some good minty almond or coconut ice cream in town 🤔

One of my keenest childhood associations is mint ice cream and antibiotics, so I hope it works well for you. I haven't had antibiotics in a while so I don't have immediate recs for a vegan one, but I think all the brands I can get around here have at least one mint variety. If you find a good one let me know!

I will ❤️ thank you very much for the suggestion!