Had a terrible test day, 21 days out

Open link in next tab

Ross Wardrup on Instagram: "Final test day before my next meet! Just 21 days out. I’m pretty disappointed in how I performed. My squat PR is 380# but today, 365# was an absolute grind at RPE 20 Bench felt strong. My meet PR is about 270# and today, 260# felt easy. My next attempt was 290# which I failed. I think I have 280# come game day. Deadlift, oh boy. My meet PR is about 427#. A couple weeks ago, I pulled 460# off two inch blocks, and the goal today was to pull that off the floor. My first attempt was 410# and that was a max effort grinder. I took a two week trip and had a hip tweak during training for this meet, but that’s no real excuse. I think I probably took too many easy days. I also think today was somewhat of a bad day but we’ll see come July 23. This just motivates me to train harder for the next comp! #usapowerlifting #sheikogold"

https://www.instagram.com/p/CuMmnLfu9d7/?igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

0 likes, 0 comments - Ross Wardrup (@ross.wardrup) on Instagram: "Final test day before my next meet! Just 21 days out. I’m pretty disappointed in how I perfor..."

Ross Wardrup on Instagram: "Final test day before my next meet! Just 21 days out. 

I’m pretty disappointed in how I performed. 

My squat PR is 380# but today, 365# was an absolute grind at RPE 20

Bench felt strong. My meet PR is about 270# and today, 260# felt easy. My next attempt was 290# which I failed. I think I have 280# come game day. 

Deadlift, oh boy. My meet PR is about 427#. A couple weeks ago, I pulled 460# off two inch blocks, and the goal today was to pull that off the floor. My first attempt was 410# and that was a max effort grinder. 

I took a two week trip and had a hip tweak during training for this meet, but that’s no real excuse. I think I probably took too many easy days. I also think today was somewhat of a bad day but we’ll see come July 23. 

This just motivates me to train harder for the next comp!

#usapowerlifting #sheikogold"

I was only able to hit 96% on squat, 92% on deadlift, but got a 3% increase on bench, from 270# (122 kg) to 280# (127 kg).

I did take a two week trip during training and had an SI joint tweak around the same time that made me train easy for a while, so that may be it. I’m surprised about deadlift though because I recently pulled 460# (208 kg) off short two inch blocks.

Maybe I just had a bad day? Now I’m not sure which attempts to take at the meet.

Thoughts?