This federated thing is pretty great, actually.

I've seen a bunch of discussions around merging and migrating and who's gonna take on users here and there and I've come to the realization that it really doesn't matter in the end, does it? All the instances that are connected that share similar communities (or even communities of the same name and goal) just become one big thing.

Instances, so far as I have found messing with this the last day and a half, only really seem to differ in UI. As a general user, anyway, I don't see anyone boasting instance specific features that another instance does not have (though I'm sure that can change in time given the open source nature of the platform).

I'm just rolling everything up into one big pile to connect with and make more people lightly blow air out of their nose while they dick around at work. The more instances and communities, the merrier I am. 😋