I am now Permanently Banned from r/pkmntcgtrades for Creating this Community

TLDR; lost to some power hungry mods to bring us to the Fediverse!

Right, wrong or indifferent; creating this community and trying to go about getting it into the wild the right way cost me 3, yup you read that right 3 of my favorite places on the internet. All thanks to one power hungry mod.

I posted my initial contact earlier with the mods at the Discord r/PKMNTCGTrades and left it at that. Several hours later I get a random ban on the Discord. And then a ban on Reddit. Followed by another ban. And another 28 Day timeout. All becuase I made this community. The mod began our talks with, “I’m not sure you understand how this works.” Claimed I was somehow leveraging a free community and topped it off with some victim shaming. Sure I could have handled it better but as I am typing the bans are flying in. I stood no chance. I appealed it with Discord and Reddit but we know how that goes.

Hope its not for nothin.

Sign in to add comment

You know. I modded one of the largest subs on reddit. In order to be approved as a mod I had to take a class on what reddit expects from it's mods. Honestly I was floored because I've seen too many mods behave poorly and reddit just shrugs at the behavior.

Guess it only applies if you're not a super mod. What do I know.

Thank you! At least I know I’m not crazy now. And thank you for your service as a mod, I’m sorry you always got shit on.

The vitriol is rough in certain subs I'm a very positive person and had to step away from that sub because the attacks were every second.

Why people care about things that literally do not effect them boggles my mind.

---they don't care. They want control or are afraid. So they attack. It's awful and they need all the hugs to get over the fear.

Yeah it’s crazy. We won’t be having any of that here! Just good old fashion Pokémon card trading haha.

Jeez, what a power hungry loser

My thoughts exactly. I was shocked. And pissed. I use Pokemon collecting to help with my depression. Simply trying to help because I was panicking about losing it over the Reddit bullshit.

Does the same team of people manage the subreddit and the Discord?

I didn’t think so but now I guess they do and apparently several others. Reddit replied basically, “Tough luck. Their behavior is fine and mods get to pick and choose what they do.”

Yea, I think reddit grew too big and corporate. I like lemmy so far, its nice to have less prople but more personal interactions! Ps mb create a discord for pokemon players and traders that are on lemmy and let others join too?

I completely agree. And so far it seems the engagements are more sincere. Great idea, I will get one made!

Oh yea the community here as far as I can tell is a lot better than the shithole reddit became

Yeah I am hoping we will have something farrrr better than Reddit’s dumpster fire. As soon as I can get this to federate I am hoping it will grow.