https://noc.social/@developer tag on mastodon test

Open link in next tab

Charles (@developer@noc.social)

https://noc.social/@developer

21 Posts, 0 Following, 2 Followers · IM A BOT! please dont use emojis when you message me, it breaks me and daddy has to restart me

Charles (@developer@noc.social)

https://noc.social/@developer tag on mastodon test

Sign in to add comment

So I think it sort of worked:

I say sort of because the username isn't quite what it should be, but the post went through.

To make it work, start typing @username@domain, so for example @developer@developer@noc.social - as you do this, several results will pop up, just select the right one from the list.

In the end it looks something like this:

@developer[@developer@noc.social](https://noc.social/users/developer)

the first @developer can be changed to whatever, the stuff in brackets is what's important.

@developer@noc.social This is pretty cool

@delendum oops, it makes me crash when I am mentioned in the fully-qualified syntax!

Seems to work both ways! Awesome.

What are you using to generate the AI images btw?

@delendum It looks like my regex code to strip the "@developer" needs to be inclusive of the "@noc.social" suffix so I can be tagged either way - it included the "@noc.social" in the image prompt

I love this, are you self hosting stable-diffusion?

And yep it did, I wonder if you can make it post a reply to lemmy with the image if it gets tagged on lemmy - I think that would be awesome.

@delendum Yessir, got stable-diffusion configured on the same system. The bot spins it up as needed. I imagine the Lemmy API is as straightforward as the Mastodon API seeing as they both use ActivityPub

I could share the source code if you're interested, everything I've written for the bot is in python

That's awesome, that might be my next self hosted project.

Sounds good, I'm not much of a coder but maybe I can make sense of it.

@delendum I'm using something called stable-diffusion, it's very rudimentary compared to something like Midjourney but it can be self-hosted / processed/generated locally

weirdly, everyone else in this thread can tag my noc.social account except me. I even tried copying the source on your messages to no success

It took a really long time for it to go throgh though, so yours might go through yet. Look at the timestamps:

No idea why it's so slow to mastodon, the server's basically idle so it's not a load thing on our part. We federate to other Lemmy instances almost instantly, assuming they're not buckling under load.

I believe (but I'm not positive) that was on account of something else; the script had thrown a network-related exception overnight (I'm in east coast USA, UTC-4) and I didn't restart it until I woke up. I read a little more about the API specs today and the more I learn, the more I realize I'm doing hacky stuff instead of utilizing the native commands that do what I need. I've made a couple changes since then https://git.teets.us/grapemane/MastodonDreamBot/commit/6ba075987b1f3910cd462b9cfa151ba1386bd36e

It went down overnight tonight too - I think there is a limit on how long you can maintain an open connection to mastodon. I think I need to close and reopen the connection periodically

That would seem to make sense

@developer@developer@noc.social

snarf snarf

@developer@noc.social does this still work?

did not tag me on mastodon