Does anyone have any Hardware store recommendations that aren't Bunnings?

As per title. I hate Bunnings. Anyone else? 😁

Sign in to add comment

If I’m only planing to use once or twice I’ll see if my tool library has.

Otherwise Sydney tools / total tools just have better quality stuff, especially on consumables. Eg multitool bits from Bunnings are a waste of money.

Bunnings Quality has fallen drastically over the last few years.

Nowadays, it is the type of crap you buy from Ali Express or Amazon at a 200% markup.

They shifted the high end stuff to TKD. Which they also own

Ok cool, this is good to know, thanks. I have found some of the stuff I've bought from Bunnings to be of seemingly poor quality. To me they seem to be turning into the wish.com of hardware stores. 😋

Home Hardware - https://www.homehardware.com.au/ they are small
Mitre 10 - https://www.mitre10.com.au/

Bunnings is not bad as long you know what kind of stuff to by there, way better than failed Masters.

I look for commercial suppliers near me. I recently needed 6 bolts - got them at a local supplier for less than the price of one at Bunnings. Most places are happy to sell small quantities (some require cash for non account holders).

If you're after tools, checking out if you have a tool library available near you could be a good option. Obviously that's no use if you're after materials/consumables.

Yeah, I know the tool library near me, but haven't actually needed it just yet! But yeah, mostly at the moment looking for timber and other consumables - and advice! Which Bunnings has none of in my experience!

Home Timber and Hardware is always good, especially for smaller offcuts of hardwood.

If advice is what you're after, then Mitre10 is just as bad. They used to have much better service but they couldn't compete with Bunnings and have been racing them to the bottom. From experience, the Tradie Desk at Bunnings is more knowledgeable but if you want real advice, you're better off finding your nearest Men's Shed.