A cool guide about types of berries

Open link in next tab

https://lemmit.online/pictrs/image/d951fd03-9cd8-4831-ba23-ada777ee7dbf.jpeg?format=webp

Sign in to add comment

The utility of these guides is really starting to wane

What, no dingleberries?

That’s on the cool guides after dark

Where are the tomatoes?

https://uploads.neatorama.com/images/posts/193/98/98193/1504721246-0.jpg

And the cucumbers

And Bananas

On some sociopath’s pizza

I'm not sure tomatoes on pizza is as weird as you might believe.

Not so much a guide, as it's just a list of berries.

i'm sorry but salmonberries and raspberries look exactly the same

Tayberries too.

Tay berries are actually quite long, they don't look like this picture. At least the ones I picked like 20 years ago were.

Yeah, you're right. I googled them after I wrote the comment, they look quite different. They're not common where I'm from, so this picture was the first time I saw them. Wikipedia says they're a cross between raspberries and blackberries, which make me think of boysenberries,which I love, but they are apparently a cross between blackberries and dewberry. I wish tayberries were more common here, I would love to taste them! I do like a nice jam with my cheese.

Salmon berries (at least those I've seen) are usually a bright orange color. They sometimes have part or all red, but generally they're orange.

Oh, and I've never seen a huckleberry that wasn't either bright or pale red.

Edit: also, the huckleberries I've known only grow in individual berries, not clusters.

The salmon berries where I live are generally a light red almost pink tone. I've only ever once seen orange ones. They are fuzzier than raspberries though, they don't have much of a sheen to them, and are more fragile/thin skinned.

There are a few varieties of huckleberries that range from light purple to dark blue, almost black. In my neck of the woods (NW USA) you can go up into the mountains in late summer and get lighter colored huckleberries and then in the fall you can get the dark ones on the coast off the evergreen huckleberry bushes. None that I've seen grow in bunches, though the evergreens are more densely packed.

Interestingly enough, both mountain and evergreen huckleberry bushes tend to grow in places where you can find chanterelles, though not necessarily at the same time.

fair point, i've never even heard of them before so i guess the guide isn't all that accurate.

Why isn't Thimbleberry on this list?

I was disappointed Loganberries weren't represented.

Edit: but boysenberries are, so I can't get too mad...

It's a tayberry the same as a raspberry? I think I know Cape gooseberry as a ground cherry.

I've heard tayberries are very similar to raspberries, but they're longer and have a slightly different flavor. I haven't had any so I couldn't say for sure.

If that's the case, it's weird they don't have raspberries on the list.

They're in the upper right corner

Wow, how did I miss that? Thank you, I'm going to go sit in the corner and ponder my dumbness now.

Don't beat yourself up over it. They're easy to miss because they're not in the "main square" of berries, and the color means it kinda mentally merges into the title section. If the poster was designed slightly better, they'd have put darker colored berries in that corner. (Though thinking about it, maybe the order of berries represents the most popular or biggest crop or something.)

I disagree

People pick gooseberries when they're green? I've only eaten them when they get more black in colour