Cheerleader Revelations [meta: actual gif => giphy.com]

I'm doing some testing to see what the best format / upload site is.


.gif file, 7.24MB, uploaded to giphy.com


Desktop

web:
Thumbnail? yes, Loads in post? yes, Loop? yes
alexandrite:
Thumbnail? no, Loads in post? no, Loop? yes (on click-through to external site)
photon:
Thumbnail? yes, Loads in post? yes, Loop? yes


Mobile

sync:
Thumbnail? no, Loads in post? yes, Loop? yes
voyager:
Thumbnail? yes, Loads in post? yes, Loop? yes
connect:
Thumbnail? yes, Loads in post? yes, Loop? yes
liftoff:
Thumbnail? yes, Loads in post? yes, Loop? yes
jerboa:
Thumbnail? no, Loads in post? no, Loop? yes (on click-through to external site)


I don't have access to every front-end and mobile app available. Please share your experiences with whatever it is you use. Thanks.


(gif is from the film Bottoms, btw)

Sign in to add comment

Memmy: thumbnail, yes; loads in post, yes; loop, yes.

Not sure it’s technically a thumbnail since it looks the same, but it does load, display, and loop at the main scrolling view.

Thanks for the info. (Buy, yeah, the distinction between these things can feel a bit arbitrary for mobile apps)

[BUG] Opening the clip doesnt work

While the preview/thumbnail is played without any problems, clicking on it leads to a "Content not available"

Device information

Sync version: v23.09.13-18:19    
Sync flavor: googlePlay    

View type: Slides    
Push enabled: false    

Device: a53x    
Model: samsung SM-A536B    
Android: 13

same here

I'm typing this using Sync and get the same. I wonder what Sync is doing that other clients aren't. I'll have a look at their GitHub and see if it's already been reported as a bug.

Thunder: thumbnail: yes, loads in post: yes, loops: yes

Thanks. I hadn't heard of Thunder. But I've downloaded it now, and will use it for future testing.

I'm on Jerboa and it was a yes on all of them for me.

Aha. I've just found the 'auto-play gifs' setting in Jerboa, which means it plays in the post now!

Thanks for this detailed research 😍 can confirm the thumbnail doesn't load on Alexandrite, and I need to click through to see the gif.

Tesseract:

Thumbnail: yes

Post: yes

Loop: yes

Thanks. I've only found Tesseract via db0, but I'll be able to use that for future tests

Mlem: thumbnail? No, loads in post? Url card displayed but no image, loop? No