Where do I (cross)post general music production tips here?

I started a music production community on sh.itjust.works here and I want to crosspost my stuff from there so that music-centered instances can get better content and traction. I'm new to Lemmy as most people seem to be right now, so I don't really know how to approach this best. I don't see any pre-made general music production community on Waveform and I'm okay with making my own and keeping an eye on it.

Would creating a separate community here from a local account and then giving myself mod at my instance be a good idea or should I do something different (per your advice)?

Sign in to add comment

I'm not sure what would be the best way. I can see a few different ways to go about it:

  1. You do as you said, create a community here and cross-post to it from your instance.
  2. You don't do anything because thanks to federation, we can already visit your community: https://waveform.social/c/musicproduction@sh.itjust.works (I can also add a link to the sidebar of this instance)
  3. You pick and choose a different community here based on what the post on your community is about. (Like if you're making hardcode kicks, post it to hardcore or something).
  4. You come join us on here entirely and make this your home base 😁

The main purpose of making a local community is to aid discoverability of it on this instance, since that's the whole point of a music instance - sorting by local and getting music content. Adding to the sidebar is okay, but you'd need to do the same for every local (or relevant external) community to be fair and that's a ton of work (i assume) you don't need.

Picking and choosing different communities to x-post to is a lot of work for me, because I am really bad at categorizing stuff and most of my content coud easily be posted to several waveform communities at a time, because it's general production advice and free tools. Figuring out which tools are compatible with which DAW communities is not even something I can do to a decent degree and posting to every DAW or genre community about things applicable to all of them may become near impossible (and much more importantly it will spam the feed).

I'll consider fully migrating here when things settle down a bit, since there is a lot of talk (and action) about defederating certain instances or defederating by default if security measures aren't up to par, so having a big local userbase dampens the effect that has on discoverability really well (considering you have to go out of your way to find content from less populated instances.)

Thanks for responding and detailing my options here, I think I'm going to create an instance for music production here and cross-post for now if you give it a green light!

By all means, as long as things are civil and music related I am happy :D

If I may add a few cents.

Usually I'd just subscribe and then I have you in my subscriptions. It doesnt have to be local.

Of course this is the best instance to be local on with anything music prod related.

Double triple and cross posting, maybe even with different accounts seems too much to me.

Discoverability sucks right now, unfortunately. Crossposting to big instances helps this stuff getting discovered in local. Searching for communities is hard as is (since you need pre-existing knowledge for the server to find it), and making it easier on the end-user will help create a self-sufficient community that can maintain itself and maybe even grow on its own. And you gotta have an account to create a community since there isn't one here, so that's just that.

Errm yeah all good. Crossposting is totally fine. I meant having multiple accounts on different servers and posting the same stuff is a bit redundant. If you post it from here it its all good. Your stuff on just works should be searchable in the communities from here already as I subscribed to you there. But it was defederated from other large instances so you might be better serving from here. True.