Database optimization changes

I'm trying to get the instance to run better, so I just adjusted the database pooling to hopefully make things run more stable. Let me know if it made stuff worse 😂

Sign in to add comment

Could you share what you did? pgbouncer and a much larger pool of available connections comes to mind.

All I did so far was up the pool connections from lemmy. I am quite bad at db stuff, so if you want to help me set up pgbouncer I'd love the help. I had been considering, but hadn't gotten around to it yet.

Depends on how you're currently set up. My intention was to use something like k3s + https://cloudnative-pg.io to handle most of the details for me.

I prefer to version my configs so this approach serves my MO better, even if it is a little more work initially.

The new Lemmy release (0.17.4) also contains some DB optimizations according to the release notes.

Yes. I've been meaning to update, but the script was failing so I need to look into that first.