I am aware that lemmy.world already has a decently active DRG community, but I noticed that not a lot of other video game subreddits seem to have made the migration yet (or at least, not very successfully), especially those in this genre. Considering that population counts here will be much lower than what folks are used to (possibly indefinitely, but at the very least for a few months as reddit crumbles), I figured it might be a good idea to form an aggregate community for the entire horde shooter genre, so that fans of any of these games can still have an active hub for discussion and/or partying up that isn't a discord server.

Personally, I'm playing a lot of Darktide at the moment and put a lot of time into L4D and B4B in the past, and will probably be posting some submissions relating to those games in order to get things moving, but anyone is welcome to post just about anything relating to any of these games. Memes, strategizing, bug reports, l4g requests, highlight reels, I figure it should all be fair game, at least for now.

If a community does start to pool together here, I'm very interested in hearing from folks regarding the full range of games that should be open for discussion here. When I first got the idea for this page, I had in mind specifically the lineage of level-based, co-op horde shooters that hold pretty close to the original Left 4 Dead formula (or possibly some other, older precursor I'm unaware of). However, I was reminded of other horde modes, like the wave-based Nazi Zombies and Horde in Gears of War. Should we include those here, too? Do they have big enough communities elsewhere that it isn't worth diluting this one?