Searching for the Perfect Keyboard

Open link in next tab

Searching for the Perfect Keyboard

https://thoughts.greyh.at/posts/perfect-keyboard/

For years, I’ve been using a CODE Keyboard equipped with Cherry MX Clear switches. It has served me faithfully, but recently, I’ve felt the need to try something different. Given the plethora of options now available, I embarked on a quest to find the perfect keyboard.

Searching for the Perfect Keyboard

My hunt for a new keyboard.

TLDR - Loving my new custom GMMK 2. Glorious Panda switches are fantastic.

Sign in to add comment

There're way better options then those on the market now. Also, if tilde is important to you, consider a 75%.

Full-size keyboard or bust.

1800 gang

I did love my full size CODE... We will see if the 65% sticks.

Always looking to learn, which keyboards are you liking?

I have the Keychron Q1, which is 75%, hot swappable, and SOLID. Price is really good too, and it's QMK.

Eh, kbin seems to have swallowed up my original reply. In addition to the keychrons, some cheaper 75%s include the Lychee G80 and the Feker 75. A more premium option that I've handled in person and thought was nice was the Zoom 75.

I guess I was mostly concerned at seeing the Drop Alt: That's just overpriced and not very good by now; 3 pin sockets when a lot of nice switches are coming with 5 pins just doesn't cut it.

Honestly, I think I will probably stick with the GMMK 2.

As long as the keyboard supports shift + escape for tilde (they said theirs did), i really don’t see a need for a 75%.

If you use it often a three key combination gets old real quick.

I'm a Code guy, on my second in ten years, but I have occasionally cast a cheating glance at the GMMK's.

Thanks for the writeup.