Sync for Lemmy is happening

Open link in next tab

Sync for Lemmy is happening

https://old.reddit.com/r/SyncforLemmy/comments/14ee1ul/sync_for_lemmy_is_happening/

My plan is to get an MVP out in the next 3-6 weeks. What should make the first release?

Sync for Lemmy is happening

Edit:

Official Lemmy Community:

https://lemmy.world/c/syncforlemmy

UNIVERSAL SUBSCRIBE LINK

This should open the community in your instance


Looks like the Boost for Reddit Dev just reserved a Lemmy Community...No official announcement yet.

Proof: https://old.reddit.com/r/BoostForReddit/comments/14ehiqs/_/jouvuok/

Direct Link to the Community: https://lemmy.world/c/boostforlemmy

Sign in to add comment

The more, the merrier!

Yea, I really loved RiF, so I hope we get Lemmy is Fun. Was a paid user and would support again.

1000%. I'm currently using Jerboa for Lemmmy, which is pretty similar, but I loved RiF's UI and general "no frills" layout.

If TalkLittle came out with a Lemmy/Kbin browser, I'd get it in a heartbeat.

Jerboa lacks a lot of customization features but hopefully it keeps improving. Sync was my absolutely favourite though and if LJ can replicate those features in the lemmy app it'll be a no-brainer for me to use Sync.

Yeah every single app I've tried so far, and the web UI, has this "modern" design aesthetic which basically means a lot of wasted screen space and having to scroll more to see what could easily fit on the screen at one time.

Best thing about RIF was the density of information, which you could customize how you see fit. Waiting patiently for an app in that vein

That is what was so great about Apollo too. It was like a whole different experience from their disgusting app made from the charred remains of Alien Blue.

Infinity for Reddit was my 3rd Party app of choice, boy what I would give for Infinity for Lemmy, seriously hoping

Same with Infinity for Android, though I did use Sync on iOS.

The more the lemmier.

agreed

This is really cool for Android users. If Apollo came to lemmy, that would be the biggest kick in the teeth for Reddit.

Checkout artemisapp, it's supposedly using Apollo as it's inspiration

OH MY GOD ITS MY DREAM COME TRUE

God bless and welcome to the BDC

Would be great to have other mobile apps fill the gap, so that the devs can focus more heavily on the main site instead of Jerboa.

FWIW, I highly doubt the devs are focused on anything but the Lemmy API right now. In fact, I also doubt they’ve slept in a month.

For sure, even so, it'll be good to have a really solid mobile app option that doesn't take any of their focus in the future.

Yeah, lemmy.world user count doubled between 6/12/23 and 6/16/23. At this rate it could triple by today, reaching around 39,000. Thanks devs!!!!

may it be usable without play services

request that he release it on Fdroid!

https://lemmy.world/c/syncforlemmy

Permanently Deleted

Wow this is huge. Should bring a ton of new users. Spez really shittin his pants now

Boost dev just reserved a lemmy community also. I edited my post with the links.

Brilliant. I love the Boost client and having it would significantly increase my Lemmy usage.

Omg this is amazing, I was actually a longtime Boost user but didn't want to rain on the Sync parade in this thread.

On another note, I never received a notification about this reply, just noticed it now. I would assume that has something to do with the server strain at lemmy.ml?

Edit: I'm sorry, I can't find the link to the boost community. Please send it over when you get a chance.

We did it Reddit Lemmy!

Awesome. I uninstalled Sync after they stated it would be going down on July 1st because of the updates. It was the a great app. Looking forward to this.

You should be able to keep it alive for some time by patching it with revanced.

I'll use Sync until the world stops turning.

It's the best app UI/UX wise in terms of customizability. Basically, everyone wins.

This is absolutely fantastic news! Sync was pretty much my only way of browsing reddit for a long time. This should make the transition much easier.

BTW: Hi everyone, that's my first comment on Lemmy!

This is exciting! Glad to see Lemmy will be getting so much more attention!

this is awesome. i'm a paid (no ads) user, and will definitely support sync if there's a lemmy client.

ps. thx for linking to old.reddit.com ;)

Man, I know it's a different app but I'd be so thrilled if the Boost dev decided to jump ship and make a Lemmy app. I tried so many reddit apps and Boost ended up being everything I wanted and more.

SAAAAAME

That would literally cement my place here.

Agreed I tried so many reddit apps on android and boost was my favorite too.

Any app right now would be great. The web needs some UI tweaks. I hope Apollo comes to light.

im on iOS but this is amazing!! i was on android for a long, long time and Sync was my go-to. Thank you, Laurence :D

This was my favorite Reddit app. So happy to see it coming to Lemmy now that I've moved on from Reddit.

what is sync for lemmy?

Sync for Reddit is a very popular Reddit client. This is the Lemmy version.

That's great. I hope more reddit clients become lemmy clients.

But what does it do?

It's an app that lets you view and comment on lemmy (previously Reddit) on android with a very smooth and versatile interface. Lots of great tools for customisation and feeds.

You should be able to group communities together and hide already read posts. Lots of theming and other things as well.

Ah so like Jebora but much better. That is good news very much needed.

Like to be notified so I can try it out. Maybe RIF could try one too. Call it LIF.

This is huge! Sync was my favorite reddit client.

Oh goodie! That's the client I use!

Or, used to use.