2022 Rust Survey results

Open link in next tab

2022 Annual Rust Survey Results | Rust Blog

https://blog.rust-lang.org/2023/08/07/Rust-Survey-2023-Results.html

Empowering everyone to build reliable and efficient software.

2022 Annual Rust Survey Results | Rust Blog
Sign in to add comment

Cool to finally see the results - hoping that future surveys will give results faster.

@Arbitrary That's not just random attention difference. In fact, Rust got a lot of attention due to the integration into Linux Kernel and the multiple dramas that happened. And have in mind the survey is less neutral, because it is hosted on Rust itself (meaning Rust interested people are most likely on the survey). So my claim is at least backed up by data.

@Arbitrary Despite having more languages available for the survey than ever before (11), less people participated in the survey than last year (6.4% decrease 2022 compared to 2021). That's not healthy and a sign that people are less interested in the future of Rust. For the question why people stopped using Rust, the top answer is "Factors outside my control".

I don't think that's a sign of less interest. It's probably just that it wasn't shared as widely as the previous survey. Social media gives somewhat random attention like that sometimes.

I never saw anything about 2022 survey, and I do use Rust at work and follow the news around it.

@SorteKanin That's not just random attention difference. In fact, Rust got a lot of attention due to the integration into Linux Kernel and the multiple dramas that happened.

I didn't even know there were a survey (and I've used Rust professionnaly for years)

@hairyballs So point is, that less people took the survey than before.

I only participated in two surveys, the first, then the second or third (don't remember).

I am here. So, while I'm not sure, I think I'm still interested 😑

Maybe gauging level of interest based on the number of survey participants is not a sound strategy 🤔

I think there used to be a question about how long you've known/used Rust. And you would find that new or relatively new users were always overrepresented. Although, maybe that over-representation was read wrongly at times.

If I had to speculate something based on this decline, I would guess that most people who were to give Rust a try at some point, have actually done so already. So the influx of people new to the language, where for them the novelty (and the excitement/resentment that comes with it) hasn't worn off already, has slowed down.

I'd say that's understandable, and is to be expected after many years of hyped existence.

I don't think the survey was advertised? For me it popped up when I was writing something in the Rust Playground.