I printed these for my daughter’s first birthday. The kids loved it!

Sign in to add comment

Those look pretty large, how long did it take you to print all of them?
What printer did you use?

They’re 125x125x125. I was able to personalize the boxes with the x1c with AMS.

I think they took around 4-5 hrs each. About another hour for the personalized covers.

What software did you use to create the covers?

I've been printing a ton lately, but I haven't gotten into inlaying different colors or custom text.

I can research it myself, but it would be helpful to have a software recommendation to get started.

Tinkercad

Some more details here: https://lemmy.world/comment/336561

Thanks!

These are wonderful! What a lovely gift. What did you put in them? Or did you leave them empty?

Just typical party favors. Stickers, bubble wands, spinning toy watch, etc.

This is so cool!! I don't think I was ever as excited for a gift as I'm sure those kids were! Beyond thoughtful to personalize them with names. I would keep mine forever. You're going to make your daughter very popular, I'm sure hahah.

Those are great! Nicely done. It's little things like that that they can really appreciate sometimes.

Now I want to get an MMU for my prusa 🤦‍♂️

howd you get multiple colors to print like that? im finally getting mine going after initially losing my patience with it. that looks awesome.

The white parts are printed separately and glued on. The personalized names on the covers, I used tinkercad. I imported a “Mario” font and then made it protrude slightly. It should be less than the layer height, but deep enough to provide solid color.

Then in bambu studio, color the protruding letters. When sliced, it’s just a smooth surface.

I learned the technique from a post in bambulab but can’t seem to find it anymore.

Most slicers should be able to do this, I’ve added a color change in PrusaSlicer to do similar. Having it protruding (top layer) makes it easier.

I loved those. Do you have any guide on how to design 2D text to print for cake toppers like this?

we bought the cake topper from Amazon. Only the question marks are printed

Ah, I see. Thank you for your answer