Drama as r/britain user says citizenship tests are too hard because not even a native could be expected to know the answer to questions such as "Which flag has a white cross with a blue background?"

Open link in next tab

Thank the Lord I was born here... because I would NOT pass a British Citizenship test!

https://old.reddit.com/r/Britain/comments/15ejcbm/thank_the_lord_i_was_born_here_because_i_would/ju8j2bi?context=8

Posted in r/Britain by u/S1k__RR • 593 points and 565 comments

Thank the Lord I was born here... because I would NOT pass a British Citizenship test!
Sign in to add comment

Hmm, this gives me manufactured engagement vibes. Like those mobile game ads ("only 10% of players are smart enough to complete this puzzle!"

6% of BRITISH shoppers admit they do THIS at the checkout!

Steal?

Nope, it was save their pin in their phone address book under a false name like Alan the Aardvark.

I thought it was Ethel the Aardvark, who just happens to be a quantity surveyor.

I can't read!

Woman finds dog, when she sees why she calls the police.

Archive link for those who don't want to give traffic to that site: https://archive.is/gcfiM

Yep. This looks like a typical Reddit thread...

Honestly as somebody who's done one of these tests, they're genuinely not very hard but they do require you to do a few hours of prep. The actual application though is very long and tedious asking you to obtain information from the government only to copy it into the application form and send it back to the government. Needless tedium really. Not to mention having to find character witnesses who have to work in specific professions and must have known you for years.

Permanently Deleted

If anyone’s curious to try some of the questions I found a mock test here.

I passed! And I'm neither British, no do I aim at British citizenship. Will I get a consolation prize instead?

You get to Brexit immediately! Have some sovereignty!

I didn’t vote brexit so as you could give the ultimate prize to anyone.

/s

Me too! Probably a good thing as I live here!

It's Finland, obviously

I don't see how many, if any, of those questions in the images are relevant to someone being assessed of worthiness of citizenship. Surely it should be more about current day culture and the way we live in the UK?