Combining Maths and Linguistics with Category Theory

Open link in next tab

A new application of category theory in linguistics (part 1)

https://blog.juliosong.com/linguistics/mathematics/a-new-application-of-category-theory-in-linguistics-part-1/

This is the second part of my “portfolio” prepared for the virtual poster session at ACT2020. It introduces my category-theoretic modeling of the human language grammatical type (aka syntactic category) system. The technical detail can be found in my dissertation “On the formal flexibility of syntactic categories.” This article is a conceptual synopsis, with some occasional remarks not included in my dissertation.

A new application of category theory in linguistics  (part 1)

I'm a mathsy scientist, not a linguist, so I'm coming at this from a different angle, but I find this blog by a linguist gives a great informal overview of applied category theory in linguistics.

Similar concepts from a mathematician's angle is here: https://www.math3ma.com/blog/language-statistics-category-theory-part-1 I really enjoy how complementary these perspectives are