hmmm 😈

Sign in to add comment
β€’

Toby McGuire is a bad person.

β€’

saying "shalom" or "namastey" or "hola" as a non-native speaker was an irritating "hip" thing to do when that movie came out, and that's a scene where Peter Parker is trying repeatedly to be "hip" and failing spectacularly.

β€’

wait is it genuinely irritating to sprinkle in greetings/thanks/you're-welcomes in other languages cuz i do that a lot cuz i like learning new words πŸ₯Ί

β€’

Unfortunately you are not allowed to speak in tongues outside of those you were born into.

Also nice username.

β€’

πŸ₯žπŸ€œπŸ€›πŸ₯ž

β€’

🍽️ hmmm

β€’

that's also a top notch username

Same... Do people hate me?

β€’

As someone that does this...

People say I'm irritating but endearing.

So take that as you will.

β€’

yea, it's irritating by way of inconvenience, especially in monocultures like the states, but it isn't wrong or a "bad" behavior, so go for it.

β€’

mercΓ­ πŸ₯΄

β€’

de rien!

I always read symbiote spider man in this movie as Parker with the confidence to act how he thought would be cool. And he thought it would be cool to answer the phone in an unexpected way.

That's exactly what it was. He wasn't supposed to be cool, he was doing what he thought was cool. I don't understand how people watch the part of him walking down the street finger gunning everyone and miss that.

β€’

It's like his inner id running loose

Is the symbiote the horse or the rider?

β€’

Ahoy hoy.

β€’

Mushmushi!

β€’

C Montgomery Burns?β€½

β€’

This wasn't just a quirk of Burns, but a joke about his age:

Alexander Graham Bell initially suggested that the standard greeting when answering a telephone should be "ahoy", but instead "hello" (suggested by Thomas Edison) was adopted.

β€’

Perhaps Thomas Edison's greatest crime.

β€’

I still think we should switch over to Italian answering:

"Pronto!" == 'ready'

β€’

Ya know, given recent events, certain people have made me aware that I often say shalom, call my baby daughter "bubby" and use other words like "schlep" and "schvitzing," as though Yiddish was evil. They are, of course, assholes.

Natural, I'll continue to use those words because I was raised on Mel Brooks movies, especially Men in Tights, which is a goddamn classic.

Many Yiddish words like "schlep" are so mainstream that it doesn't even register with me.

Isn't that one Dutch?

Yiddish and Hebrew are far older than and used by those who don't support current events. It's like the German language getting demonized in the US (and probably elsewhere) around the world wars; the language didn't do anything, but people make assumptions of the speakers of those languages.

Yiddish and Hebrew are far older

So called "Modern Hebrew" is not old and was specifically manufactured for future "Israelis" to use. Many real Hebrew speakers consider it an abomination.

You completely cutt off the the rest of my sentence and context. Older than current events. I'm aware that modern hebrew is not biblical Hebrew (or a direct continuation of some other semitic language) and was revived/created in the not distant past (I wanna say late 1800s without looking it up, but I may be mistaken)

Yeah Judaism isn’t the problem with Zionism, settler colonialism and genocide are.

Doesn't bubby mean grandmother?

β€’

So apparently it can be both Grandma and baby, and I have no idea why. I did double check, though.

β€’

"Bubbe" only meant grandmother originally. The "baby" meaning almost certainly comes from it being a false cognate with the English word.

β€’

He looks like an emo twink and his daddy dom just told him he's been a very naughty boy.

β€’

fuck you. you're totally right and I hate it

β€’

To me it looks like what I thought Macaulay Culkin would look like when he was older instead of what we got.

β€’

I could have sworn I watched this but I don't remember the plot of the movie, let alone whatever this is. I feel like the only thing I remember from it was him telling the girl to make him different cookies.

The symbiote keeps kosher, doesn't it.

β€’

Holy shit it's real, that's fucking hilarious LMAO.