Beyond Shadowgate, the sequel to the console version of Shadowgate, launches on Sept 19th!

Open link in next tab

Beyond Shadowgate

https://www.zojoi.com/beyond-shadowgate/

Beyond Shadowgate launches 9/19/24! Wishlist on Steam and GoG! The original design of the never-before seen point and click adventure is being brought to life after 30+ years in the vault – Beyond Shadowgate! The game is being created by the designers of the original 8-bit hit Shadowgate and a leading 8-bit adventure studio! With…

The original design of the never-before seen point and click adventure is being brought to life after 30+ years in the vault – Beyond Shadowgate! The game is being created by the designers of the original 8-bit hit Shadowgate and a leading 8-bit adventure studio! With a story that is over four times larger than Shadowgate, Beyond Shadowgate captures the same look and feel as the 8-bit console version while including modern design sensibilities. Get ready for the ultimate Shadowgate sequel!

Sign in to add comment

Tbh I'll be surprised it this gets any upvotes.

But I grew up with this series on the ol' 8-bit Nintendo. And if you search for it online, there's NO news story about this. I found it because I have a calendar reminder to visit their Kickstarter every few weeks.

The game looks great!

Hopefully this gets them some Lemmy attention and gets them some marketing.

Really excited for this and the Broken Sword Remaster that comes out on the same day. Shadowgate was my gateway to learning English. I sat in front of my NES with a dictionary when I was like 10 or 11 years old. Even managed to beat the game that way.

I hope they will keep a rendition of this masterpiece

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvBlKm66E4E

Steam link for those interested https://store.steampowered.com/app/2332240/Beyond_Shadowgate

I'm also on that Kickstarter, really happy this one is nearing release. Now wondering if I should be doing a play through of the original Shadowgate before jumping into this one.

All the MacVenture games were awesome (Deja Vu and Uninvited are up there too), don't worry you'll get a few upvotes from others that used to play these games :)

I recently played the 2014 version and thought it was fantastic! Apparently it was released with bugs during launch, which gave it a lot of bad reviews.

At the end of the game, it prompted the Kickstarter, which how I learned about it!

I played the N64 version. Some of those games were tough before web browsing was a thing.

I never played that one! Would you recommend it?

Shadowgate 64 doesn't hold your hand, but I can recommend it.

Console? You mean Macintosh?

Either way, I'm glad to see it getting some love; I played it on Amiga growing up.

The Mac was the original version.

This release is following the NES UI and graphics!