Audacious - An Advanced Audio Player

Open link in next tab

Audacious - An Advanced Audio Player

https://audacious-media-player.org/

Sign in to add comment

I like deadbeef because it reminds me of the foobar2k days. Very simple interface but behind the context menu is hidden tagging, replaygain editing, a robust plugin system, and all the more advanced features I need to keep my collection well groomed.

Is there a really complete Linux audio player? By complete I mean : shuffle, queue management and reorganization, cover support, sort by album, artist, etc... Have good tools, like eq or compressor.

One day I searched and tried many but didn't find a good one

Audacious. It's in the post you made this comment to

Strawberry has all those things.

Didn't find a way of having a good album and songs sorting

You are supposed to use the metadata editing if it is not already correct then it well automatically sort them for you. You can edit multiple tracks at once to set the album in one go for example.

Check out Quod Libet, it is my current favorite.

Tried to but didn't work that well, maybe gonna check again

I used it in the past on Linux and liked it's relatively small memory footprint though I am currently on Strawberry ( a fork of Clementine).

Has strawberry gotten any easier to theme? I tried a few years back and just couldn't handle the aesthetics, and theming it seemed to only do some parts properly.

Wasn't Amarok (from which Clementine was forked) recently brought back from the dead?

Yes, Amarok is also active again though it's UI is reasonably different from Clementine now.

Oh! I should get back to it... Togrther with the winamp skins I had downloaded from internet archive.

Plus projectM from Steam, and Spotube... I could stop using the monthly subscription for (*1) an ugly UI that barely handles drag-and-drop and is a mess to make my playlists with.

(*1) tbh, the recommendation engine got me hooked at first, but my interest has been fading away.

Winamp Skins Collection link

( * Has some NSFW skins mixed in.)