Is there a reason firefox saves file you just want to open? It used to not be the case.

It's been half a year now at least that this change was introduced and it's super annoying. I discover this behavior on MacOS many years but now this is happening in Linux. Because of that I really want to change browser.

Am I missing a reason for such a change?

Edit: to be clear I always setup Firefox to ask everytime what to do but the open option used to open the file without downloading it (or probably in a tmp folder somewhere) now with the open option you have the file in your download which misses the point of asking in the first place.

Sign in to add comment

Am I missing a reason for such a change?

They wanted to fall in line with what all the Chromium-based browsers do.

That said, there is a way to get it to start asking you what to do with files again (though I don't remember how), but it still always saves the file to your Downloads folder (because that's what Chromium-based browsers do) which there is no option to change yet as far as I'm aware. To be honest, I'm not sure they ever will implement that as a feature, but I really hope they do because I hate having to go manually cleaning out my downloads when just letting me dump them to a temp dir would make life so much easier.

about:config

You may search for temp.

And the option regarding saving could possibly be discovered via querying for ask : )!

Permanently Deleted

I think this "improvement" is pretty poor - If I'm interpreting your post correctly, I think you can set:

browser.download.improvements_to_download_panel false

in about:config