Comparing ArkScript and Python async/await

Open link in next tab

Comparing Python and ArkScript asynchronous models

https://lexp.lt/posts/python_and_arkscript_async/

Python has received a lot of attention lately. The 3.13 release, planned for October this year, will begin the huge work of removing the GIL. A prerelease is already out for the curious users who want to try a (nearly) GIL-less Python. All this hype made me dig in my own language, ArkScript, as I had a Global VM Lock, too, in the past (added in version 3.0.12, in 2020, removed in 3.

This past few weeks, Python 3.13 and the possibility to disable the GIL has seen a lot of coverage and that pushed me to dig into my own language, to see how different our approaches are.

So if you’re curious about the rambling of a pldev, that might be for you!