I found Our Ascent a few hours back and only stopped playing it recently. It's one of those games where you're under a time limit and you're supposed to accomplish as much as you can, and it relies

I found Our Ascent a few hours back and only stopped playing it recently. It's one of those games where you're under a time limit and you're supposed to accomplish as much as you can, and it relies primarily on RPG mechanics. I like it, although I have some minor nitpicks:

  1. It's a bit difficult to tell when adjacent areas can't be crossed (water-to-land and vice versa). I got used to it though.
  2. Restarting a run takes slightly more time navigating the UI than is comfortable.
  3. The backgrounds in the game are AI-generated. I don't feel too strongly on this one because the dev said they'd replace the art once they got funds to hire artists.
  4. You can play as multiple characters, each with their own campaign that provides global boosts to all characters. But the boosts are so minor that I'm not really motivated to play them.
  5. You need to do some calculations in order to find out the effective power of percentage-based statistics. Maybe this is intentional, I dunno.

Again, these are minor nitpicks. I really really like the game. I'm not sure why I'm posting some of these nitpicks here, the dev hasn't even heard of this place.

#incremental_games