Welcome to the VOIP Community on Lemmy.ml!

So now that we have two more subscribers here, I thought it right to make a welcome post. Hopefully we can grow the community! I am the "mod" here but I must confess that I am what I would describe as an intermediate-to-advanced beginner. Most of my professional experience has been within the last 22 months working as an L1 Freepbx tech. Basically updating and configuring dialplan change requests. I am open to handing over moderation to considerably more experienced folks.

To get the conversation rolling, what would be your recommendations for growing in the field? How would you suggest a rookie plans their career path to ensure rapid growth to attain expertise and relevance in the field? What skis and toolsets have been of great impact to you more experienced folks?