Why content of communities are missing in other instance?

See screenshot. Example here is !privacyguides@lemmy.ml On lemmy.ml I can see several posts, on lemmy.world, none.

I logged in in both, I joined both, both profiles have enabled NSFW content and language is untouched (so all languages should be displayed).

What is the reason for that and how I get the posts on lemmy.world?

Sign in to add comment

My guess:

Federation only starts when a user subscribes to a community. So no lemmy.world user has subscribes to it until now.

And there is no backfilling of post history. only new posts will be federated.

That's why it is empty.

So if someone creates a new instance and subs to a community in another instance they won't see the community history?

Are the people on an instance where the community is located the only ones who will ever see the original content?

So if someone creates a new instance and subs to a community in another instance they won’t see the community history?

Correct. It does (sometimes) backfill a a page of old posts on first subscriber, but zero comments. There is no backfill procedure for new servers.

Right now Lemmy has pretty serious bugs, such as not sending comment deletes to all servers subscribed to a community. So things like backfill aren't getting as much attention because it's hard to even keep servers consistent with new content.

I also see nothing on lemm.ee

It could be because the admins are setting an amount of time to stop pulling old data. Or it could be the backfill issue. Mastodon had a similar backfill issue open as well, though that has been opened since 2016 and still hasn't been fixed.

The one you linked is an old one anyway, you should use !privacyguides@lemmy.one instead.

My guess:

Federation only starts when a user subscribes to a community. So no lemmy.world user has subscribes to it until now.

And there is no backfilling of post history. only new posts will be federated.

That's why it is empty.

if you want specific old posts search for the post's original url on your instance, same with comments.

How do I check? I think I have the same issue.

I also see nothing on lemm.ee

How do I check? I feel like I have the same issue.