IRS opening free online tax filing program to all states

Open link in next tab

Just a moment...

https://www.axios.com/2024/05/30/irs-taxes-direct-file-free-program

This is exciting for me because:

  • I model ny taxes in my spreadsheet anyway, so I'm likely to notice a mistake
  • I usually use FreeTaxUSA to file for free, and this means there's one less party to share my personal information with
  • my state's taxes are pretty simple, so I don't need state-specific tax software

I hope this helps simplify things for some people and save a bit of money as well. I'm going to try it out next year.

Do any of you estimate your taxes? Are you interested in trying out this service?

Sign in to add comment

It would be way more useful to me if they allowed itemized deductions and allow me to choose, just like FreeTaxUSA does.