I think I fixed the thumbnails issue :-)

It's always the small things you overlook...

The docker-compose.yml I copied from somewhere when setting up lemmy.world apparently was missing the external network for the pictrs container.. So pictrs was working, as long as it got the images via Lemmy. Getting the images via URL didn't work...

Looks like it's working now. Looks a whole lot better with all the images :-)

Edit For existing posts: Edit the post, then Save. (No need to change anything). This also fetches the image.

Sign in to add comment
ā€¢

Yes! Good job @ruud@lemmy.world šŸ‘

Btw this is only for NEW posts. Existing posts still won't show the thumbnails

ā€¢

Tip: Edit the post then Save. Works!

ā€¢

The Ruudder steers us!

ā€¢

Images FTW, many thanks for the heads up Ruud :)

It worked, nice one :)

ā€¢

Where did you get your docker-compose.yml from? I want to make sure I'm not making the same mistake.

ā€¢

I think from the lemmy repo, but is has been updated since.

Here is an alternative Piped link(s): https://piped.video/watch?v=9Ht5RZpzPqw

Piped is a privacy-respecting open-source alternative frontend to YouTube.

I'm open-source, check me out at GitHub.

ā€¢

What exactly is the issue? I don't appear to have a thumbnail problem, but my compose is set up the way you described..

ā€¢

if pictrs doesn't have access to the external network, the post won't show a thumbnail when you post a link.

ā€¢

Oh interesting. I will need to look into this. Thanks!

This is only an issue when you're using a lemmy.world account. I'm able to skirt this issue for a while by posting through lemm.ee.

ā€¢

good job

ā€¢

Still not deleted here

ā€¢

Out of curiosity does this work for direct links to imgur gifv format? Some of my posts I see (may have been to other instances) don't load the preview.