How to make it such that, when running `command`, it automatically does `SOME_ENV_VAR=value command`? (something cleaner than aliases?) - Lemmy.run Fediverse

Open link in next tab

How to make it such that, when running `command`, it automatically does `SOME_ENV_VAR=value command`? (something cleaner than aliases?) - Lemmy.run Fediverse

https://lemmy.run/post/28966

hello friends, I am looking for a way to do what I described in the title. When running command command, I dont want to have to type SOME_ENV_VAR=value command every time, especially if there are multiple. I am sure youre immediately thinking aliases. My issue with aliases is that if I do this for several programs, my .bashrc will get large and messy quickly. I would prefer a way to separate those by program or application, rather than put them all in one file. Is there a clean way to do this?