Attempting to run a Chinese Diesel Heater on a peristaltic pump controlled by an Arduino Uno

Open link in next tab

Attempting to run a Chinese Diesel Heater on a peristaltic pump controlled by an Arduino Uno

https://tube.tchncs.de/w/pqzu9KEVZBQt9GX4roUmnQ

My goal is to replace the loud clicking fuel pump that comes with pretty much every Diesel heater, be it from Eberspächer, Webasto, Autotherm (Planar) or from China. Autotherm offers a improved piston pump for a hefty price tag. But also that pump remains a clicking pump. My idea is to use an inexpensive peristaltic pump that is easy to service and cheap to replace, if needed. Unfortunately I ran into a problem with the temperature control element of the Diesel Heater, after my first test with the peristaltic pump. The Diesel heater did run with it for a few minutes, but gave an error after I attempted to start it for a second test. Apparently I had overheated the thermo-fuse since the air was not guided over the cooling ribs of the heater, without the housing, during my test. Possibly I may have overheated the little Chinese Diesel heater by pumping too much fuel into the burning chamber with the peristaltic pump, running at the same pumping frequency as the piston pump. To be able to continue with my project, before the new thermo-fuse arrives from China, I started testing the feasibility of replacing the original Diesel Heater controller with an Arduino mini computer. In this video I will show the first steps with the Arduino on the Chinese Diesel Heater. To be continued in following videos.

Given how many van builds use diesel heaters, I thought this video might be interesting to share.

Bonus: Peertube is to YouTube, as Lemmy is to Reddit, and Mastodon is to Twitter.