Why doesn’t the Mullvad VPN app on macOS create a VPN profile or network filter in Network Settings like other VPNs?

The original post: /r/mullvadvpn by /u/carelessparanoid on 2024-08-28 18:28:29.

Hey everyone,

I recently switched to using Mullvad VPN on my Mac, but I noticed something different compared to other VPN apps I’ve used, like Mullvad over Wireguard app or NordVPN app. With other VPN apps, I could see the VPN profile or network filter directly in the macOS Network Settings, allowing for direct monitoring, management and “on demand” connection.

However, with Mullvad app, it seems like the VPN doesn’t appear there at all. This is a bit confusing because I was expecting it to show up in the same way. Is there a specific reason why Mullvad’s VPN app doesn’t create a profile in the Network Settings like other VPNs do? Is this related to how Mullvad handles VPN connections or some macOS-specific behavior?

Additionally, I’ve noticed that when I have Mullvad VPN active, iCloud Private Relay displays a message saying that the software installed on the machine is incompatible. This doesn’t happen when I use other VPNs apps. Does anyone know why Mullvad app specifically triggers this incompatibility warning with iCloud Private Relay? (I really don’t care about it but I noticed it)

I’m running MacOS Sonoma on a MacBook with M3 chip.

I’d love to hear from others who have experienced this or anyone who might know the technical details behind it.

Thanks!