Constant disconnections every 5-10 minutes making Mullvad borderline unusable

The original post: /r/mullvadvpn by /u/Oblivion__ on 2024-08-21 11:14:46.

I've had an issue for a couple of months where every 5-10 minutes, seemingly at random, Mullvad just disconnects and gets stuck in a loop trying to reconnect. The temporary fix is to disconnect to stop it getting stuck, and then manually reconnecting. That fixes it for little while before it happens again. When it does reconnect, my speeds are massively reduced. I go from about 500mbps to 15mbps, and my ping skyrockets to above 2000ms.

I've tried different servers, using switching between openvpn and wireguard, turning on and off ipv6, changing the port, changing obfuscation and quantum-resistant tunnelling, but none of these options have worked.

Some hardware information:

  • OS: Arch Linux 6.10.6 (also tried LTS kernel, no luck)
  • Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B450-I
  • Wifi card: Intel AX200

Haven't tried running on Ethernet, would prefer to not have to run a cable from the router but I might try and see if that helps.

It's just becoming really frustrating. I've been an avid supporter of Mullvad for years, but this has been a really souring experience. Hoping that this can be resolved soon. I did a bit of searching and came across this thread on GitHub reporting this issue, but the proposed workaround doesn't really work and there hasn't been any activity or comment from the devs. Anyone else having this issue?