There’s no wrong reason to learn Cymraeg, or any language

Open link in next tab

There’s no wrong reason to learn Cymraeg, or any language

https://bylines.cymru/hiraeth/theres-no-wrong-reason-to-learn-cymraeg-or-any-language/

There are a thousand reasons to learn to speak Cymraeg. Whatever yours might be, don’t let the thousand reasons not to speak it put you off, if you enjoy it

In June I went to the land of castles and spoke the tongue of the dragon. By which, of course, I mean Wales and Welsh, Cymru and Cymraeg. For my first proper holiday in over 20 years, I planned the trip and went by myself. As a single person, I had two choices: travel alone, or don’t travel. I chose to travel.

Many people have mentioned that it can be hard to find Cymraeg speakers with whom to practise. While in Cymru, I think I figured out some of the reasons why. They may be simpler than one might think, and they’re certainly not personal only to me.