Thunderbird for Android / K-9 Mail: January 2024 Progress Report

Open link in next tab

Thunderbird for Android / K-9 Mail: January 2024 Progress Report

https://blog.thunderbird.net/2024/02/thunderbird-for-android-k-9-mail-january-2024-progress-report/

A new year, a new progress report! Learn what we did in January on our journey to transform K-9 Mail into Thunderbird for Android.

Thunderbird for Android / K-9 Mail: January 2024 Progress Report
Sign in to add comment

I've used K-9 for years, but I'm rather looking forward to tapping on a Thunderbird icon.

Thought Thunderbird didn't have an Android client, always knew about K-9, but never connected the dots /facepalm

It was only in 2022 that they decided to merge the projects, and there hasn't been much on its face to show for it, but I gather that the back-end and behind-the-scenes work will eventually get it to the point that MZLA Corp will feel comfortable giving it the Thunderbird name.

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2022/06/email-client-k-9-mail-will-become-thunderbird-for-android/

it is due this year

I just hope this doesn't add bloat or I'll go back to bluemail.. To me the point of K9 Mail is that it is a small simple app that does what I need without ads and nonsense.

Thunderbird is not exactly known for its bloat or ads, so doubt this would happen.

This is truly just great! I use both and it makes perfect sense to bring the expertise from K-9 folks over instead of making a new app from scratch!