move_toward, rotation and radians

So, I'm trying to rotate the player as they turn left and right in a top down view. The rotation works correctly when moving right, but fails going left.

Here's the code that handles the rotation

rotation = move_toward(rotation, PI / 12 * direction.x, PI / 2 * direction.x * delta)

The numerical values look right, giving me 0.261 rads going right and -0.261 rads going left ... but the rotation going left continues to go clockwise and stops just before a full 180.

Is there some quirk with rotation that I'm missing? My rubber ducks have remained silent.

Sign in to add comment

Took a walk and figured out my issue. I shouldn't have used direction.x in the increments argument. move_toward figures that out for you.

Way to not just say "nevermind fixed it"

It has always sounded to me that that line is from people annoyed because they didn't get an answer. And I don't believe they figured anything out.