Eyeing on Xiaomi/Poco phones, do all of them have good custom ROM support?

Hey there, I am currently in the market for a new phone and options from Xiaomi and Poco seem to be always at the top of my choice list. I'm specifically eyeing phones like the Redmi K50i, Poco X5 Pro, Poco F4 and Poco F5. I've heard that Xiaomi phones get very good custom ROM support. Is that actually true?

Sign in to add comment

Always best to check before you buy. For the F line that is generally true unless it's not sold in India like the POCO F5 Pro. The other cheaper lines like Redmi Note are rather hit or miss though.

They do get custom roms, I have a Poco X3 Pro, but, support for them can be flaky. Also, check the model you're gonna buy well. My phone model apparently has hardware defects that kill the phone randomly. I am lucky to not have fallen prey to that yet though.

Models with Snapdragon CPUs only. Check out xiaomi.eu and xda

The Poco F series are popular with custom ROM(ers). The more popular custom ROM's include crDroid, Pixel Experience, Arrow OS, etc.

Alright, thanks for letting me know about that website. It seems like a great resource!

Xiaomi.eu is not an absolute source to check that: some devices receive Xiaomi.eu rom but don't get any AOSP rom, like Xiaomi 12 Lite or Mi Pad 3 to name two examples, so it's better to stick with XDA particularly

you gotta check for them in the xda for your desired model, but most has went to telegram tbh

Oh okay, I'll search for it then

🙂